Smart Action

“A little knowledge that acts is worth infinitely more than much knowledge that is idle.”
– Kahlil Gibran

Over the last week I’ve continued to follow the ever-developing debate on the future of human spaceflight.  Most of the material I’ve encountered has been arguing over positions either in favor of the policies implied by the President’s budget, or about the ramifications of the cancellation of the Constellation Program.  Frankly, it’s a lot of talk with little to add to moving the situation forward.

So today I’m going to share a snippet from my world concerning the project I’ve been leading for the last month.  Like many projects associated with human spaceflight, it is certainly not immune from the impacts of the President’s budget.  Yet unlike the people arguing over positions, I’m blessed to be in a position to do something even in the environment of uncertainty we’re facing.  I’d like to point out this is something more than marching forward with the Program of Record until the funding is exhausted, and different from doing “busy work.”  The project has meaning and is tied to an element of the future of human spaceflight.  The fundamental question is this: how are we able to make meaningful progress in an environment of ambiguity and uncertainty?

Continue reading “Smart Action”

Smart Action