Building and Leading Teams Through Conation and the Kolbe Model

“Conation is the executive function of brain, where you manage your actions and allocate your mental energy. Take charge!”
–Kathy Kolbe

As most of you know, I’m a student and practitioner of leading high-performance teams at NASA.  Any time I get the opportunity to add a new tool to my leadership repertoire, I take advantage of it.  Not long ago I encountered a new perspective on how individuals and teams get things done, culminating in an insightful experience.  Here, I’m talking about conation, the Kolbe model, and insights provided by Kathy Kolbe and Joan Koerber-Walker on building and leading high-performance teams.

Continue reading “Building and Leading Teams Through Conation and the Kolbe Model”

Building and Leading Teams Through Conation and the Kolbe Model