Quiet Time


“In quiet places, reason abounds.”
–Adlai Stevenson

It has been fairly quiet recently, which is my excuse for not posting a blog entry for the past three weeks.

On the space policy front, no new news has emerged of great impact in recent weeks.  The President’s scheduled appearance in Florida next week to presumably outline the fundamentals of his proposed space policy ought to stoke the fires of conversation and action.  Meanwhile, we’re left with arguments over whether the Augustine Committee inconsistently inflated the cost numbers and schedule dates for the Program of Record versus commercial carriers (be the judge for yourself), and the space blogeratti on NASAwatch and spacepolitics continue posturing and yelling at each other for the “I told you so” bragging rights to come – at least, that is the only reason I can figure out why they keep rehashing the same tired positions.  Oh, and by the way, Discovery launched this morning as STS-131 on its penultimate mission to the International Space Station; barring any change in direction next week, that leaves us with three more shuttle missions before we stand down for the near future on a US-provided capability to low earth orbit.

(Two of the astronauts flying on STS-131, Clay Anderson and Rick Mastracchio, are former colleagues of mine dating back to the days before they were selected to the astronaut corps.  It’s kind of nice to see those two riding to space together onboard a remarkable spaceship.)

What else is happening?

As for the project I’m leading, the team and I are awaiting a final review later this week with executives at NASA Headquarters on our first product.  Funny, but we’ve been waiting around for the review longer than it took to do the work in actuality; however, given the other happenings in the human spaceflight realm, some delays are somewhat understandable.  The team and I will know more about our near-term future upon conclusion of the final review.

Most remarkable for me personally in this quiet time is that I attended Kolbe Certification™ in Tempe, AZ.  Recently, I wrote about the experiences I had with Kathy Kolbe and the assessment she did on the team.  I was so intrigued by the “tip of the iceberg” I experienced in that short day that I signed up and attended the next offered training seminar.  My reason was simple: I wanted a greater understanding of the Kolbe A™ Index, Kolbe Wisdom™, and insights offered by the methodologies and tools offered by Kolbe Corporation.  And boy, did I ever get it!  First of all, I met a remarkable collection of other fellow trainees from a wide cross-section of businesses and endeavors.  CEOs, professors, sports life coaches, human resource professionals, leaders, … all were remarkable in his/her own way, and I greatly valued connecting with them and sharing the learning experience.  Second, I brought back numerous ideas on how to apply what I learned in a whole host of settings.  It’s a bit premature for me to reveal these now; let’s just say that I plan on using what I learned to help form future teams, and have even talked with my local human resources department about my experiences.  If you want to learn more about Kolbe Certification™, check out the information here.  Many thanks to Kathy for making my experience so wonderful!

The next week ought to be interesting.  I’m looking forward to both a decision from NASA Headquarters on the team’s project, and very much eager to hear what the President has to say about the space policy and direction for NASA’s human spaceflight endeavor.  “May you live in interesting times” is indeed the case right now.  Let’s see what a week brings.

Quiet Time